Single & Caffeinated Episode 28: An old story but a funny one…

by Megan Harris

So about 7 years ago, I went through a shitty break up with my first serious boyfriend. I was depressed and upset and twenty. So it sucked all around. My little sister came over to go get food with me and try to cheer me up with retail therapy. 

As we were on our way to the mall she looked over at me and said, “Megan, grab that piece of notebook paper. Tom [her boyfriend] wrote me a poem today!” 

“Aw, that is sweet!” I opened it up and read it. 

“[…]You are my love, 
You are so beautiful.
 I love you, so much. 
I love you more than beer.”

I stopped and cringed in horror. Not only did the poem kind of suck but – 

“Heather…he loves youmore than beer?!” I began laughing hysterically. 

“Megan, you don’t understand, Tom really loves beer.”

I put my head in my hands and wondered how on earth they had been together for three years at that point, and I still kind of wonder why they’re still together today. 

 Probably because they both really love beer

